Owner-occupied industrial real estate

Corporate real estate can do more

Hidden potential for optimisation

Administration, production, research, distribution – the diversity of Germany’s economy places unique demands on the country’s corporate real estate. Many companies still own their own real estate, often citing tradition or emotional connections for their continued owner-occupancy. In economic terms, however, such statements make little sense, especially as corporate real estate requirements are evolving ever faster and owner-occupancy is becoming more and more of an obstacle to growth. Owning real estate ties up both capital and personnel resources – which would be far more profitably invested in a company’s core business.


Enhancing value

A study carried out by the University of Regensburg has shown that companies with a large proportion of real estate among their corporate assets have lower stock market valuations. The study found that the shares in the German corporations that owned the largest proportions of real estate traded at 17% below their book value. A number of international studies have clearly demonstrated that the sale of owner-occupied corporate real estate provides a significant boost to company valuations.

BEOS supports companies in unlocking this potential by working closely with our corporate clients to develop tailored real estate solutions. In some cases, the greatest potentials do not lie in the disposal of owner-occupied corporate real estate via a total sale. Alongside the potential sale of (partially) unused corporate real estate, companies should always consider the sale-and-leaseback option for space that is currently occupied and will continue to be used in future. Retaining ownership of corporate real estate as one component of a company’s assets is, of course, always another option, for which BEOS can be appointed as an experienced partner to provide asset management services.

Fully or partially vacant real estate is a serious burden to many companies, tying up both capital and resources. BEOS acquires real estate on behalf of investors and at the request of current owners, takes over the property management and repurposes the real estate for new users. The acquisition of complete property portfolios is as much an option as the purchase of individual buildings and sections of a company’s property Portfolio.

BEOS manages corporate real estate in every corner of Germany. Companies lease these properties, which are fitted-out to meet their specific needs – whether office, production or logistics. Renting professionally managed real estate enables companies to react flexibly to their constantly evolving space requirements.

Sale-and-leaseback transactions allow companies to activate the capital they have tied up in their corporate real estate. The models developed by BEOS are far more than just financing solutions. Our bespoke medium to long-term leaseback models are oriented towards the specific requirements of our corporate clients. This includes flexible lease agreements, with tailored lease extension options and individual termination provisions. In many cases, the company as tenant can be granted wide-ranging contractual freedoms, enabling it to act independently and autonomously in a range of circumstances.

Some companies don’t want to sell their corporate real estate, they are more interested in a partnership to ensure its professional (re)development. It is for such clients that BEOS offers Joint Ventures, developed in close collaboration with our corporate partners and tailored to their specific requirements – which is exactly the same approach we take to developing solutions for the areas within our partners’ real estate.

Reletting, modernising, repurposing – BEOS does all of these as an asset manager mandated to represent the best interests of real estate owners. The primary goal of everything BEOS does is to support our tenant’s core businesses and increase their productivity. BEOS thoroughly analyses its tenants’ businesses, determining a tenant’s future space requirements and identifying opportunities for enhancing the value of the real estate – which BEOS then implements – irrespective of whether the tenant is the company that sold the real estate in the first place, or a completely new tenant.

Share

Corporate Solutions

Immobilien können mehr

Verstecktes Optimierungspotential

Verwalten, produzieren, forschen, distribuieren – die Vielfalt der deutschen Wirtschaft verlangt Immobilien viel ab. Noch setzen viele Unternehmen auf Immobilieneigentum, häufig aus Tradition oder emotionalen Gründen. Betriebswirtschaftlich sinnvoll ist dies jedoch nicht, denn die Anforderungen an die Flächen ändern sich immer schneller und selbstgenutzte Unternehmensimmobilien werden zunehmend zum Hemmnis. Immobilieneigentum bindet Kapital und personelle Ressourcen – beides sollten Unternehmen lieber ins Kerngeschäft investieren.

Werte heben

Ein hoher Immobilienanteil am Unternehmensvermögen führt zu einer deutlich schlechteren Bewertung an der Börse, wie eine Studie der Universität Regensburg zeigt. Demnach werden deutsche Aktiengesellschaften mit hohem Immobilienbestand durchschnittlich mit 17 Prozent unter Buchwert gehandelt. Auch internationale Studien machen deutlich, dass der Verkauf von Unternehmensimmobilien zu einer spürbaren Aufwertung führt.

BEOS unterstützt Unternehmen dabei, dieses Potenzial zu heben, indem wir mit ihnen gemeinsam individuelle Lösungen erarbeiten. Denn sie liegen nicht immer in einer Veräußerung von eigengenutzten Unternehmensimmobilien im Sinne einer vollständigen Abstoßung. Neben einem solchen Verkauf leerstehender (Teil-)Objekte kommt bei genutzten und weiterhin zu nutzenden Flächen beispielsweise eine Rückmietung in Frage. Auch der Verbleib im Unternehmenseigentum ist denkbar, während wir als erfahrener Partner das Asset Management übernehmen.

 

Komplett oder teilweise leerstehende Liegenschaften belasten viele Unternehmen, weil sie Kapital und Ressourcen binden. BEOS erwirbt die Objekte auf Wunsch der verkaufenden Unternehmen im Auftrag von Investoren, übernimmt deren Verwaltung und führt sie neuen Nutzungen zu. Denkbar ist sowohl der Ankauf von Teilflächen in einem betrieblichen Areal, als auch die Übernahme kompletter Immobilienbestände.

BEOS verwaltet flächendeckend in ganz Deutschland Unternehmensimmobilien. Unternehmen können diese anmieten und ihren Anforderungen entsprechend ausstatten – sei es für die Büro-, Produktions- oder Logistiknutzung. Die Anmietung von professionell gemanagten Immobilien ermöglicht es Unternehmen, flexibel auf den sich fortwährend ergebenden veränderten Flächenbedarf zu reagieren.

Mittels einer Sale-and-Rent-Back-Transaktion können Unternehmen in Immobilien gebundenes Eigenkapital aktivieren. Die von BEOS erarbeiteten Lösungen gehen dabei über reine Finanzierungslösungen hinaus. Die individuellen mittel- bis langfristigen Rückmietmodelle orientieren sich vielmehr an den konkreten Anforderungen der Unternehmen. Dazu gehören flexible Vertragsstrukturen, die unter anderem Verlängerungsoptionen und Sonderkündigungsrechte beinhalten. Möglich ist auch, dass die Unternehmen als Mieter überwiegend eigenständig und -verantwortlich weiter agieren können.

Für Unternehmen, die ihre Immobilien nicht verkaufen, jedoch professionell entwickeln lassen möchten, konzipiert BEOS Joint Ventures. Ebenso wie die Lösungen für die Flächen selbst werden auch die Joint Ventures gemeinsam mit dem Unternehmen entwickelt und an deren individuelle Anforderungen angepasst.

Flächen nachvermieten, modernisieren, umnutzen – all das übernimmt BEOS als Asset Manager aus seiner Position als Eigentümerstellvertreter heraus. Maßgeblich sind dabei stets das Kerngeschäft des Mieters und das Ziel, dessen Produktivität zu steigern. Dazu analysiert BEOS die Entwicklung des Nutzers, leitet daraus Flächenbedürfnisse und Potenziale zur Wertsteigerung der Objekte ab und setzt diese um – unabhängig davon, ob es sich bei dem Mieter um das Unternehmen handelt, das die Immobilie veräußert hat, oder um neue Nutzer.